‘hitting the thrifty jackpot!’ or ‘somebody stop me!’

I have hit the thrifty finds jackpot lately.  One major project is still ongoing and so I can’t share it yet (I can’t wait).  For now I must be satisfied with showing you these beauties:

post elna openThe Elna Supermatic.  She is a beauty.  This  blog has a great write-up on the machine and the history complete with awesome vintage print ads that are charmingly insulting to women (“If you can boil an egg, you can sew and embroider this blouse!!”).  My plan was to get her operational and gift her to Lil’S for a birthday present.  The kid is itching to sew all sorts of things and I am rather protective of my new Pfaff.  I think the Elna is perfect for her! Elna looks like this inside her case:

postelnacase

And when you open her up she looks like this:postelnaopentopShe comes with all of these goodies.  Cams for changing the stitch embroidery patterns, the cutest oil can known to man and the best of vintage instruction.

postelnaopenwithstuff

postelnawith stuffside viewAnd look at what else the case can do!  It turns itself into an extension table!!  Genius.  She is so well-built and in great condition.  I love the knee press instead of the foot control.  I’m officially in love.  By the by,  I took her to see Debbie at The Singer Store in Kingston and Debbie had her working in tip-top shape in no time.  And I loved that Debbie let me watch so I could learn all about my machine.  So I’d highly recommend heading over there if you have any sewing machine needs (no, she did not pay me to say that).

Okay, next up…Lil’S has also been obsessed with typing lately.  She loves watching me type on the computer and was intrigued to know I took typing in highschool.  Yep, I’m that old.  We had electric typewriters and we typed to music…oh the shame.  Anywho, I found this handsome machine on this auction site and snagged him for $16.

post typerwitterHe types beautifully.  And his name is Remmington.  There is no way this could go wrong.  He is intended as a solstice gift for Lil’S so she can type her heart out.

postmessageAnd finally….THIS:

posttableandchairsI love it.  I really, really do.  The table top is an amazing blue colour, the legs have these amazing spring lock mechanisms and it is in great shape.  The four chairs (which will serve as extra seats during family get togethers and dinners) have the same vinyl backs as the table top and the seats themselves are padded and upholstered in a lovely blue polyester.  Yes, I just used lovely and polyester in the same sentence.  For now this set is serving as a cutting table in my craft room.

I still can’t believe I had the winning bids on these finds.  You know you’ve done well when you go to pick up your items and the MaxSold staff say things like “you know you got a really good deal on that don’t you?” as he caresses the table and marvels at the mint condition, and “OH!  You’re the one who snagged the Elna…” followed by murmurs of ‘she’s getting the Elna’ circulating around the room amongst staff and fellow buyers alike.

Oh thrifting, how I love thee!

12 responses

  1. Oh… I am so jealous!!! Seriously! I tried to pick up an old typewriter at an auction this past winter and had to give up when the bidding went past $80… But I loved it so much! Like you, I learned to type on these babies, clicking away to the beat of some song or metronome, haha! Great finds! Lil’S will surely love!!!

    Natalie
    XX

Leave a Reply

