A Solstice surprise

I know that many of you were left wondering after my “This Moment” post earlier.  I must say the story of this doll house is one that really touched me.

I was approached by an acquaintance at KUF who asked if I might be interested in the doll house.  An older gentleman and his wife were looking to find it a good home.  It belonged to their daughter and as she is now 40 years old and has only boys it wasn’t something that would be passed down.  As it happens, I have been looking for exactly this kind of doll house for years!

And so I went to go see it.  It is just so precious.  The gentleman told me about how a friend with carpentry skills made it for his daughter for Christmas many years ago.   He was still painting it that Christmas Eve!  You can clearly see how thoughtful the person making it was.  The staircases, the railings…the perfectly chosen faux wood floors in the living room and bedroom, faux tile in the kitchen and bathroom and the velour “carpet” in the attic.  Even the wallpaper is on a scale that is perfect for this tiny house!

I was gushing with gratitude saying how I promised that my girls would take such good care of it when away he went again to find the accessories.  Accessories?  Oh my goodness, wait ’til you see…

Are you kidding me?  There was a side board for the kitchen, a letter writing desk (which actually works!), a grandfather clock and a cuckoo clock, a market basket, a canopy bed and a lamp that is actually wired for electricity!!

I mean for Pete’s sake!  Look at this phone!

This fireplace!  Have you ever seen anything like it?!  The bucket with the faux wood, the fireplace tools, not to mention the tiny silver tea set and those books!  Those are honest to goodness real books….with pages you can flip!

Clearly I couldn’t wait to set it all up when I got home and look at each and every precious piece.  Dust and all, I put the whole thing together taking notes on what needed repair and what needed doing (a new cover for the bed mattress is in order I do believe).

I would have died to have a doll bed like this as a kid.  Amazing.

So cozy!

Do I even need to tell you how much I love this cradle?  And this stroller?

Yep.  This is the bathroom.  It has a soaker tub.  Goodness.

The bedroom!  Doesn’t it look like it is out of a magazine or something?

Another adorable fireplace and this lamp…clearly, I need to look into wiring and electrical for miniature houses!

And that completes our house tour.  What do you think?  Will the girls love it or what?  I was really and truly touched by this generosity.  The exchange was finished with a handshake and a heartfelt Merry Christmas.  Merry Christmas indeed.  I’ve been thinking of ways to pay it forward ever since.

9 responses

  1. Oh this house & the story behind it are adorable. My sister and I had a dollhouse that opened in a similar manner; we played with it for hours at a time. We loved “finding” things for our doll & little animal family – bottle cap dishes, jar lid and empty spool tables, fabric scrap curtains, blankets, picnic cloths….. As a now 40-year-old woman who loved her dollhouse as a kid, I’m willing to bet that there’s years of love & creativity stored up in those little rooms and your girls will add even more.

  2. honey it is adorable and a treasure the girls will love. I would only consider putting the bathroom into one of the rooms on the second floor and making the attic into two bedrooms but the girls will decide on that. they are going to love it indeed and i’m going to love playing with it with them when i come. i’d love to meet the couple that were so thoughtful too! I’m sure you can think of something to make them too to express your gratitude. We’ll talk soon.

    On Sat, 17 Nov 2012 01:23:25 +0000

  3. I will look for the few ‘too precious’ items we got with our ‘cottage’. As the cottage no longer has a door, windows, and 40% of its’ furniture is in disrepair (plus one floorboard has been removed and destroyed), I am no longer planning to introduce these items at a later date. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

