Laughter is the best medicine…


I always knew looking back on my tears would bring me laughter, but I never knew looking back on my laughter would make me cry.”

~ Cat Stevens

This is why I went home.  This is why the tears came the moment I heard something was wrong.  This is why it was so easy to hop on a plane…  Maybe it was to make her laugh.  Maybe it was to hear her laugh.  But I know for sure it was her laugh.

My littlest sister is one of the strongest, smartest, most amazing people I know.  She is also the funniest.  I used to be the funny sister.  I taught her everything I know.  I’m like SNL.  She is like Kristen Whiig.  There is funny.  Then there is incredible talent.  Damn funny this girl.

It is so hard to live far apart in moments like these.  I wish we lived closer.  I wish I could hear her laugh more.  I sincerely wish she had more reasons to laugh right now.

So after a weekend of navigating the health care system, putting things in order, having friends fill a freezer full of tasty food, hugging and kissing my niece and nephew with as much love as I could put into those hugs and kisses…I found myself here:

…in my sister’s hospital bed.  Two grown women fooling around just like we did when we were kids.  I’m not sure I could explain exactly what we were trying to do nor why we have a picture of it…but it was funny, I promise.

…And it felt so good to laugh…with her…not something I’ll ever take for granted again.

 

******************************************************************************

and you might enjoy these other great moments in a not-so-great time:

…a game of Go Fish, or “Goldfish” as D liked to call it.

…I brought C to the hospital one evening for a quick snuggle with mama before bed.  I love that kid!

One response

  1. Aw Kelli, you are so lucky to have the love of a sister. I’m glad you got a chance to go home and see her, and I too wish she was closer, for both of you. Know we’re thinking about you both, and sending best wishes out into the universe.

Leave a Reply

