An Ode to the drive home after a birth…

This photo essay of driving home after a birth seemed like a lovely way to end my on-call week.   Early this morning I attended another lovely homebirth “out in the country” (the second in less than 24 hours).  And so I was given the gift of this glorious ride home.
Quite a sight – hundreds of bikes lined up against this farm fence…

I have been driving these now familiar roads for the past 7 years and today as I drove, I smiled as I passed the houses where I had attended a birth or a postpartum visit in the past.  And I thought of the  mothers and our visits spent admiring their little ones or enjoying a cup of tea together or taking a deep breath as we worked through some breastfeeding challenges.  I remembered the excited siblings who woke groggy-eyed to meet their new brother or sister.  My smile grew wider as I thought of each of them still snug in their beds or just getting up to start the day, totally unaware that the person who was there the moment they were born was driving past and thinking of them.

Imagine the sound of running water under your feet - wonderfully relaxing or dangerous for deep sleepers

I felt gratitude for the wonderful and skilled women I work with and for be able to do the work I do.  And although these photos were taken with a horrible Blackberry camera, they still capture the beauty of where I live and where I see life, beautifully.

Wishing I had more time to sit and dip my toes in...but off to the office I go!

I stopped for a few moments every time I passed a particularly gorgeous spot, aware that I couldn’t linger too long.  A drive home from a birth doesn’t always end in a bed and today it ended with a shower, some food, a trip to the real estate agent’s office, a meeting, some clinic, a homevisit, parent-teacher interviews, a lovely drive home with my family and now, a blog post to capture it all!

Okay, one more deep breath...trying to soak it all in quickly which is never as good as taking your time

So.  Finally, it is time to partake in the midwives’ time-honoured tradition of…falling asleep, truly tired from a days work, with wonderful and warm images like these dancing in my head.  Good night!

4 responses

  1. Wow. For a “crappy blackberry camera” those are some really nice shots! What *is* with the bikes, though? Reminds me of things you see on the Tour de France.

  2. this is so lovely. i often treasure those drives home after a birth. often an amazing sense of accomplishment and peace and an awareness of how lucky i am. thank for this!

Leave a Reply

