Nana knits…up some life lessons

We were lucky enough to have my mum down for a visit a few weekends ago.  Visits like these are treasured as they happen only every few months and sometimes only once a year.  I love watching my girls climb up onto Nana’s lap like this was something they were able to enjoy just yesterday.  Their relationship doesn’t miss a beat no matter how long between visits.  This is aided in part by frequent phone calls, telling them all about how my mum sang this exact lullaby to me when I was young, looking at photos etc.  But an important thread between Nana and these girl is an appreciation of Nana’s knitted gifts.  My mum has always been a prolific knitter and there have been many gifts of blankets, sweaters and mitts and hats to family and friends over the years.  In fact my sister’s littlest is still wearing a cookie monster sweater and hats that my sisters and I wore as kids (and this was after it had been handed down to at least three or four cousins before making their way to this generation!).

Nana’s newest gifts are simply gorgeous (and are based on the sweater made famous by Soulemama…the hats were created in my mother’s head)!  They clearly warranted a photo shoot with Brandy Jackson.

Ah, classic.  The child who won’t smile picture…next one should work…

Not quite.  This is Scarlett being scared by a dog just out of the frame.  It set the tone for the rest of the shoot for her.  Oh, and just try to ignore the baby doll…it was the only way to entice Ivy to do what we asked.  And besides she loves baby dolls so really a photo with one would capture the “real” her.  At least, that is what I was telling myself watching this.

Let us see if a nice kiss will make things better…better than scowling at the camera anyways.  It was unfortunate Scarlett wouldn’t let me adjust her hat…but I’ll take it.  Pretty sweet photo if you ask me.

Things are a bit tense so lets lighten things up by taking a look at some sheep (and the turkeys, chickens and the cutest little pigs who call Stonewall Farm home).

All in all not our most successful photo shoot but despite the less than cooperative kid challenges, Brandy (who is a photographic genius) managed to capture some really great moments…like this one.  And the lessons of letting go, rolling with it and embracing the complicated people that my kids are were, er, reinforced.  Because really, the most important thing is what these sweaters represent: a connection between the generations.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

