Sunshine you can take home…

I think Ivy’s sunshine theme for her birthday is just the sweetest.  I mean, who wouldn’t want a little bit of sunshine on their birthday?  It is definitely a more creative idea than my go-to “fall themed” birthday plans (ie Hallowe’en, pumpkins, apples, coloured-leaves).

In fact I think a sunshine birthday is truly inspirational and wanted to find a way for our guests to take some sunshine goodness home with them.  I’ve always wanted to make homemade play dough but I’ve never taken the plunge.  It was actually a lot of fun to make and they do really look like little balls of sun!  I was inspired by this post at http://www.mommyfootprint.com.  You’ll find my tweaked recipe at the top of this post, by clicking here, or by looking in the sidebar on the right under “Tutorials”.  I found the picture in the post is quite small and hard to read but if you click on it it gets bigger and you no longer need the magnifying glass.

The recipe is super easy and can be whipped up in under 10 minutes with ingredients you’ll likely have on hand.  I think I’d like to try to colour it with turmeric or something next time to see what happens…maybe I’d mix the turmeric in with the dry ingredients? Hmmm.  Next time.

Nothing like sending guests home with a little something to brighten their day!

4 responses

  1. Love it! If you haven’t already read Sunbread, I highly recommend it.It’s a sweet book with cute illustrations and a recipe for making your own sunbread at the end. We haven’t actually used their recipe, but we have made sunbread many times.

  2. Superfun Kel! I have a similar recipe for playdough and I find the texture is so nice and soft, Ruby loves it! I also like the tumeric idea for next time, I might try that myself. I would actually add the tumeric to your liquid while it’s heating though… I’m thinking that might allow it to disperse a little more evenly that adding it to the dry ingredients would.

    Loves to little Ivy-Lou on her b-day party weekend!

Leave a Reply

