If the world gives you lemons…

…make lemonade!  Right?  Well the world didn’t give me lemons but I did have a craving for my delicious Tomato, Lentil and Onion Soup.  I thought about this soup all day.  Preparing to leave the house in the morning I thought about my busy day and how I might not have a lot of prep time for dinner.  “No worries” I thought, “I’ll make Tomato, Lentil and Onion Soup.  It is so quick and easy to make”.  On the drive home I wondered if there was anything I should pick up at the store.  “Nope” I thought, “I have all the ingredients at home”.

Once home I got out my cutting board, some onions and went to the fridge to get the celery…”What is this?  Where did the celery go? Hmmmm”.  In my search I also noticed that there were no tomatoes!  Tomato, Lentil and Onion soup would be well, just lentil soup without them (they went in Thousand Islands Papa’s lunch by the way…I did check the night before : ).

What to do, what to do.  Still craving some sort of Fall soup I persevered.  I found leeks in my fridge search.  “Ah yes”, I thought “I’ll make my famous Potato and Leek Soup instead”.   So out came the leeks, chop, chop, chop.  I went to the cupboard for the potatoes. Sigh.  No Potato and Leek Soup either.

So.  If the world gives you leeks, and you happen to have sweet potatoes, you might make…Sweet Potato and Leek Soup!   I sort of used elements of both thwarted recipes.  Here is what I came up with for those of you who may be celery, tomato and potato challenged as well:

Sweet Potato Leek Soup

Of course you’ll need:

2 large sweet potatoes

2 large leeks

2 tsp sunflower oil

1 tablespoon butter

1 tsp salt

1 tsp thyme

4 cups water

Peel and chopped the sweet potatoes. Cut off the green tops of the leeks. Cut the whites of the leeks lengthwise and chop. Rinse them well to get out any hidden dirt. In a large saucepan, melt the oil and butter.  Saute the leeks and sweet potatoes for about 5-10min (until the leeks are softened).  Add the salt and thyme in for the last minute.  Cover with water (about 4 cups). Bring to a boil and cover, reducing heat and simmer for about 20 minutes (until sweet potatoes are tender).  Puree in the blender.  Delicious!

So what are you going to do with what your fridge gives you tonight?

Leave a Reply

